Perfect Pair of Pants

Kia ora! (Our Kiwi way of saying hello!)

Hopefully by now you have decluttered your wardrobe ready to start anew. If you aren’t sure how or why to do this – check out my second blog post ‘Secrets of my Wardobe’.

When I first started out teaching I was really lucky to be at a school that allowed jeans – of any colour….! This was bliss for my 20 year old self. Jeans at work and jeans in the weekend = very low expense. But over time there were a few downfalls to my denim look:

  1. I ALWAYS felt like I was at work, even in the weekend
  2. I got bored
  3. I looked too causal at work
  4. Parents didn’t take me seriously because I didn’t look professional
  5. The rest of my wardrobe was causal too

The above reasons were enough for me to make a change. I didn’t want to be seen as the ‘young, naive’ teacher. I wanted to be seen and treated like the professional I was. So after writing my list of what made a professional wardrobe, I set to work on the bottom half first. Here are the tips and tricks I have live by now:

Pants

Always remember to buy quality first. Experiment with your fun fashion sense later. I went to Forever New (www.forevernew.com.au) as their pants were the $70-$100 mark. I bought 1 pair of pants a pay until I had checked off my list. That was:

x1 pair black pants (quality)
x1 pair navy pants (quality)

A good pair of black and navy pants will go with EVERYTHING. They also wash easily and don’t show up the dirt. I alternated between the two pairs Monday-Thursday then on Friday I allowed myself to wear jeans. It took me two pays, or 1 month, to buy these 2 pair of pants (remember I was purchasing other items to build my wardrobe at the same time too – like blazers!). I bought them in 2013, have looked after them, and I still wear them 4 years later. Worth every cent. My top advice is not to go crazy on the pants. Keep it simple. Black and blue might seem dull now, but these are going to be your base for the rest of your expanding, exciting wardrobe.

What next with pants?

Eventually you will start building other sort of pants into your wardrobe. Like my awesome animal print pants or my out-there red, black and white striped pants (see below). But this all took time. And because I had invested in other fabulous quality base clothing, like black shirts, white shirts and blazers, I instantly had a whole new outfit with minimal spending.

 

Next post I promise I will talk about your Best Friend; the Blazer.

x Style the Kiwi x

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.33.59 pm.pngScreen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.34.06 pm.pngScreen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.34.14 pm.pngScreen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.34.21 pm.pngScreen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.34.29 pm.png

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

